skip mobile navigation
skip top site navigation

Menominee Tribe Announces Tribal Legislature Election Results

Posted on Jan 19, 2018 by
General News

Chairman Gary Besaw and 2 Tribal Legislators Re-Elected

(Menominee Indian Reservation, WI) ~ The Menominee Indian Tribe announced today that Chairman Gary Besaw, Myrna Warrington, and Joan Delabreau were re-elected to the 9 member Menominee Tribal Legislature during the Tribe’s general election held on January 17-18, 2018.

The election results have been certified and reported by the Menominee Tribal Election Commission as follows,

2018-2021 Menominee Tribal Legislators

Gary Besaw        359

Myrna “Tudy” Warrington            267

Joan Delabreau 252

Remaining Totals

Rachel Fernandez            227

Gunnar M. Peters            188

Kenneth A. “Bum Bum” Fish       156

Randolph “Randy” Reiter              127

Shannon L. Wilber           127

Other current members of the Menominee Tribal Legislature include Vice Chairman Craig Corn, Secretary Eugene Caldwell, Crystal Chapman-Chevalier, Ron Corn Sr., Douglas Cox, and Pershing Frechette. Menominee Tribal Legislature members each serve a three year term, with three of the Tribal Legislature up for election each year.

The newly elected Menominee Tribal Legislators will be sworn into office on Friday, February 9, 2018 at the annual Menominee Tribal Legislature Reorganization Meeting.   The offices of Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Secretary will also be selected by the Menominee Tribal Legislature following the swearing in ceremony.

“I would like to extend my sincere congratulations to fellow incumbents Joan Delabreau and Myrna Warrington for their re-election to the Menominee Tribal Legislature” states Menominee Tribal Chairman, Gary Besaw. “We as a Nation are grateful for their leadership and service. I also extend my gratitude to the remaining worthy candidates who participated in our Nation’s democratic process. As for myself, I am humbled to be elected to serve another term on the Menominee Tribal Legislature,” stated Chairman Besaw, “and I look forward to working, in whatever capacity, with my fellow Menominee Tribal Legislators in service to our Great Nation.”