## **Oneida Nation**

Post Office Box 365

Phone: (920)869-2214



Oneida, WI 54155

## BC Resolution # 03-27-24-B Recognition of the Service of Members Serving on the Oneida Business Committee from 1969 to 1984

WHEREAS,	the Oneida Nation is a federally recognized Indian government and a treaty tribe recognized by the laws of the United States of America; and
WHEREAS,	the Oneida General Tribal Council is the governing body of the Oneida Nation; and
WHEREAS,	the Oneida Business Committee has been delegated the authority of Article IV, Section 1, of the Oneida Tribal Constitution by the Oneida General Tribal Council; and
WHEREAS,	in 1969 the Constitution was amended to move from a four member Oneida Executive Committee to a nine member Oneida Business Committee; and
WHEREAS,	the members of the first term of the Oneida Business Committee were Chairman Purcell Powless, Vice Chairman Irene Moore, Secretary Amelia Cornelius, Treasurer Albert Manders who was replaced by Alma Webster, and Council Members Joycelyn Ninham, Ira Cornelius, Norbert Hill, Judy Barton, and Gordon McLester; and
WHEREAS,	during this 15-year period from 1969 to 1984 there were five elected terms of office of which there were two different Chairmen, three different Vice Chairmen, five different Secretaries, and five different Treasurers; and
WHEREAS,	this period included the creation of the bingo operations which grew into the Oneida Casino; the Oneida Tobacco Enterprise and outlets, the Oneida One Stops, a nursing home and health center, and multiple housing subdivisions; and
WHEREAS,	the Oneida Business Committee named the Irene Moore Activity Center, the David 'Sonny' King Gym, the Anna John Nursing Home, and the Norbert Hill Center; and
WHEREAS,	there were ongoing language programs, the development of the tribal school beginning with kindergarten and elementary school, the development of the Museum and the Arts and Crafts Store; and
WHEREAS,	the Oneida Business Committee saw financial crises develop in 1981 which resulted in the

WHEREAS, the Oneida Business Committee adopted the Building Codes, Shoreland Protection Ordinance, Hunting and Fishing Law, Bingo Ordinance, Tobacco Ordinance, Garnishment Ordinance, and many other laws to govern the Oneida Nation as it began to grow and govern more activities;

in at a separate ceremony rather than during a regular meeting; and

first identified layoffs in the minutes, the centralization of accounting systems on the Nation's first computer system, and first time an Oneida Business Committee was sworn

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, the Oneida Business Committee adopts this resolution recognizing members who have serviced as Officers and Council Members on the Oneida Business Committee from 1969 through 1984 on behalf of this Nation.

## **CERTIFICATION**

I, the undersigned, as Secretary of the Oneida Business Committee, hereby certify that the Oneida Business Committee is composed of 9 members of whom 5 members constitute a quorum; 8 members were present at a meeting duly called, noticed and held on the 27<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2024; that the forgoing resolution was duly adopted at such meeting by a vote of 7 members for, 0 members against, and 0 members not voting\*; and that said resolution has not been rescinded or amended in any way.

Lisa Liggins, Secretary Oneida Business Committee

\*According to the By-Laws, Article I, Section 1, the Chair votes "only in the case of a tie."

		Vice-							
1969-1972	Chair	Chair	Secretary	Treasurer	Council	Council	Council	Council	Council
August 21,	Purcell	Irene	Amelia	Albert	Joycelyn	Ira		Julie 'Judy'	Gordon
1969	Powless	Moore	Cornelius	Manders	Ninham	Cornelius	Norbert Hill	Barton	McLester
				Alma					
April 6, 1970				Webster					

1972-1975	Chair	Vice- Chair	Secretary	Treasurer	Council	Council	Council	Council	Council
August 4,	Purcell	Irene	Margaret	Alma	Wendell	Eva			Gordon
1972	Powless	Moore	Doxtator	Webster	McLester	Danforth	Norbert Hill	Loretta Ellis	McLester

		Vice-							
1975-1978	Chair	Chair	Secretary	Treasurer	Council	Council	Council	Council	Council
August 4,	Purcell	Norbert	Amelia	Alma			Mervin		Joycelyn
1975	Powless	Hill, Sr.	Cornelius	Webster	Ruth Baird	Rick Hill	Jordan	Irene Moore	Ninham
January 14,					Robert		Wendell	Loretta	
1977					Thomas		McLester	Metoxen	
April 25,				Chester					Margaret
1977				Smith, Jr.					Doxtator

1978-1981	Chair	Vice- Chair	Secretary	Treasurer	Council	Council	Council	Council	Council
		Norbert							
August 7,	Purcell	Norbert	Patricia	Chester	Margaret	Myron	Edwin King,	Mark	Eugene
1978	Powless	Hill	Misikin	Smith	Doxtator	Smith	Sr.	Powless	Danforth
February 5,									Loretta
1978									Metoxen
October 5,			Wanda	Wendell					
1979			Webster	McLester					

BC Resolution # 03-27-24-B Recognition of the Service of Members Serving on the Oneida Business Committee from 1969 to 1984 Page 4 of 4

1981-1984	Chair	Vice- Chair	Secretary	Treasurer	Council	Council	Council	Council	Council
August 18,	Gary	Norbert	Wanda	Wendell	Tony	Howard		Amelia	Mark
1981	Metoxen	Hill, Sr.	Webster	McLester	Benson	Cannon	Joy Ninham	Cornelius	Powless
October 19, 1981								Vacant	
December 4, 1981								Frank Cornelius	
December 30, 1981			Vacant						
February 5, 1982			Gordon McLester						
June 29, 1982							Vacant		
August 10, 1982							Lloyd Powless		
October 4, 1982	Suspended			Suspended		Suspended	Suspended	Suspended	
October 25, 1982	Vacant			Vacant		Vacant		Vacant	
December 1,	Purcell			Kathy		Loretta		Lois	
1982	Powless			Hughes		Metoxen		Powless	
June 27, 1983		Vacant							
August 10, 1983		Rick Hill							