Vehicle Driver Certification Policy

Purpose I. Minimum Certification Requirements
Scope I1. Recordskeeping

Policy I11. Supervisor’s Responsibility
Procedures

Purpose: The purpose of this policy isto minimize Tribal exposure to liability claims resulting
from vehicle accidents.

Scope: Any person driving on Tribal business including employees, volunteers, and elected
officias.

Policy: Driversof Tribal, personal, or rental vehiclesmay be authorized to driveon Tribal business
if they are 18 years of age and certification criteria contained in this policy are satisfied.

Procedures: Driversmust achieve certification to drive ontribal business by meeting thefollowing
requirements:

I. Minimum Certification Requirements
A. Tribal Vehicle Certification

1. Current Wisconsin Drivers License

2. Commercia Driver’'s Licenseif required by Federal Law

3. License requirements listed in the employee’s current job description.

4. None of the following driving violation convictions:

a. Single occurrence within the last three years:
(1) Attempting to elude officer
(2) Operating after license revocation
(3) Operating without valid driver’slicense
(4) Obstruction in regard to driver violation
(5) Recklessdriving
(6) Violation of Occupational License
(7) Causing great bodily harm with vehicle
(8) Failureto stop after an accident
(9) Negligent homicide by use of motor vehicle
(10) Operating while license suspended
(11) Operating under the influence of drugs/alcohol
(12) Vehicle usage resulting in felony conviction
(13) Operating a vehicle without the owner’s consent
(14) Racing
(15) Operating a school bus without a school bus license
(16) lllega use of operating license
b. Three or more occurrences within a previous three year period:

(1) Deviating from traffic lane
(2) Failureto stop for school bus
(3) Inattentive driving
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(4) Imprudent speed
(5) Speeding 11 or more miles above the speed limit
(6) Driving on the wrong side of the road
(7) Failureto keep vehicle controlled
(8) Failureto yieldright of way
(9) Drivingtoo fast for conditions
(10) Unnecessary acceleration
B. Personal Vehicle Certification
1. Current Wisconsin Drivers License
2. Evidence of current minimum insurance coverage verified by aninsurance policy
copy supplied to HRD at every policy renewal.
a. $100,000 Per Person
b. $300,000 per Accident for Bodily Injury
c. $25,000 Property Damage
Il. Recordskeeping
A. The Oneida Human Resources Department (HRD) will maintain a current list of all
certified drivers.
1. Lists will be supplied to the Oneida Fleet Vehicle Manager and Travel
Reimbursement Departments.
B. Tribal Vehicle Drivers must notify HRD within five working days of any convictions
affecting their certification eligibility.
I11. Supervisor’s Responsibility
A. Supervisors shall ensure that no uncertified employees drive on Tribal business.
1. Departments shall create Standard Operating Procedures which minimizedriver’s
risk exposure.
B. Supervisorsshall take action when employeesor HRD report violations. Actionsmay be
but are not limited to:
1. Reassigning the uncertified employee to a position which does not require
driving.
2. Removing the driving requirement from the employee’s job description.
3. Place the employee on unpaid leave until they become recertified.
4. Termination of employment because a valid driver's license is a required
qualification on the job description.
C. If asupervisor hasreason to question an employee’smental or physical health asit relates
to the employee’s ability to drive on Tribal business, the supervisor shall refer the employee
to the Oneida Occupational Health Department or the Oneida Empl oyee Assistance Program
(EAP) for an assessment.
D. Employees may refer adriver to the Oneida Safety Department, which may also make
referrals to Oneida Occupational Health or EAP.
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