Oneida Land Commission

The purpose of the Oneida Land Commission is to oversee land acquisitions, leases, loan approvals, land use, probates, and all other issues related to Oneida tribal land. The Commission oversees land acquisitions, leases, loan approvals, land use and other issues related to tribal land. The Commission also creates the polices of the Division of Land Management.  General Tribal Council created the Land Committee February 28, 1941 and was later remaned to Land Commission. In 1977 the committee expanded to seven members and in 2005, General Tribal Council changed the commission to an elected body by adopting Real Property Law.

There are seven (7) members on the Oneida Land Commission:  
  Name     Term    
  Amelia Cornelius, Chairperson   August 22, 2012 to August 26, 2015   
  Patricia Cornelius, Vice-Chairperson  August 11, 2011 to August 11, 2014  
  Lloyd Powless Jr, Secretary August 14, 2013 to August 14, 2016
  Ted Hawk, Member August 11, 2011 to August 11, 2014 
  Ronald Hill Jr., Member   August 22, 2012 to August 22, 2015  
  Matthew Denny, Member  August 14, 2013 to August 14, 2016

The Land Commission can be reached by contacting Amelia Cornelius at 920-497-5850. 

The Land Commission meets every second and fourth Monday of the month at the Division of Land Management office. This meeting is open to the public.

The Oneida Land Commission by-laws provide more information.

To be a member of the Oneida Land Commission, applicants must meet the following qualifications:
• Enrolled member of the Oneida Tribe of Indians
• A resident of Brown or Outagamie County
• 21 years of age or older.